.

that’s a really funny one.. found this in my old diary.. the teenage thoughts.. wrote about 10 years ago.. huh.. can laugh so badly about it now..
...................................---xxx---
so this guy, descartes, a long time ago he said ‘cogito ergo sum’, which is latin for ‘i think, therefore i am’.. well apparently this made a whole lot of people go ‘..oohh, i see, that makes sense.. pretty neat that descartes..’
pfff.. pretty flawed!..
the whole deal with ‘i think, therefore i am’ is that descartes was all ‘damn.. i can’t be sure of anything!.. my senses are flawed!.. all i know for sure is i keep stressin about this stuff!..’ and then his girlfriend was all about ‘if you’re so hung up on this, then you must exist, huh baby?..’ and descartes was all ‘yeaah, that’s true.. i will write this down in latin’ (only, really, he first wrote it in french, but hey, whatever, this is the 17th century, let’s translate it into latin for no good reason!..)
isn’t it a huge logical leap?.. i mean, sure it’s indisputable that thinking is going on, but who says that descartes (or his girlfriend) is the one doing the thinking?..
you can’t have thinking in a vacuum, so something has to exist if there’s thinking going on, but to attribute that thinking to yourself just because you’re aware of it is a pretty big leap for a sceptic to make..
but no, for real.. i’m sleepy and bored!
...................................---xxx---

No comments:
Post a Comment